Aarhus

In between my trips to Prague and Amsterdam, I visited Aarhus. This Danish city will always have a special place in my heart. 🙂

When I got there for the first time in September of 2005, the weather was not very welcoming: cold and wet. I was told that it was the typical weather in Denmark. I said to myself, “Gosh, how will I survive this?” But for some strange reasons, I got used to it after a few weeks. I loved its laid-back, slow-paced kind of environment. It reminded me of home.

After coming home in 2007, I have been back in Aarhus for a few days in 2008, 2010, 2011 and for this year, just last month. During my recent visit, the city still lived up to its famous weather – it was cold and raining when I arrived – although it was summer  already. It was way different from the sunny and warm weather in Prague! It felt like the city was welcoming me back! 🙂

                                                A summer that felt like winter! 😉

The city is the same, more or less. It still has this charm which is endearing, to me at least.

Downtown Aarhus

The best part about traveling to a familiar place is reconnecting with people you’ve met and known there. I stayed long enough in Aarhus to establish friendships. I was so happy to see my former professors at Aarhus University: Richard Raskin and Per Jauert.

I had a nice chat over coffee with Constanze – a former dorm-mate in Teknolog Kollegiet (where I stayed during my studies).

Constanze and me 🙂

I spent a pleasant afternoon at a cafe near the river talking to Paula – a fellow blogger and a new friend.

Paula and me 🙂

Then I had a fun lunch with my Filipino friends: Almavie and Jessica.

With Jessica and Alma

I also got to taste my favorite cappuccino at my favorite coffee shop, Barresso Coffee! I spent so much time writing and rewriting my thesis there.                                  Baresso Coffee’s cappuccino, a personal favorite! 

All in all, it was a very nice trip, short but sweet. I would like to thank the Viking for being such a gracious host.

Until my next visit, Aarhus! 🙂

About gorgeousmole

in the greater scheme of things, i am just a mole. but i am an awesome, fabulous and gorgeous mole! my life is anchored on faith, hope and love.
This entry was posted in People, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Aarhus

  1. Paula says:

    How can you say it was cold and rainy? 😛 Look at the picture with the two of us, I can’t even keep my eyes open from all the sun! To be fair, compared to the current weather, back in late June it was nice and warm…

  2. gorgeousmole says:

    Yes Paula, it was sunny but look at us, wearing our sweaters! 🙂

Leave a Reply

