Gone too soon…

No, I am not talking about a person who died.

I am talking about my six-year old laptop which was stolen a week ago. I can not describe what I felt when I discovered that it was missing. I was supposed to watch a movie on DVD that night. When I lifted the towel which served as its cover, lo and behold, it was gone.

I panicked. As far as I can remember, it was just there. I last used it on Saturday night (March 24th) when I watched the movie “J. Edgar”.

I rushed out of my room (I am renting a room in a boarding house owned by an aunt) and told my cousin that my laptop was missing.

Then it hit me. All my files are there. Six years of academic and work files. Plus another six years’ worth of memories captured by the photos of my trips abroad. Gone.

Of course it caused a commotion at the boarding house. My board mates were alarmed and my aunt (owner of the house) was alarmed too. Who wouldn’t? It was the first time that an incident like that happened there.

I have been staying there since 2007 and nothing of that sort happened. Not until some new guy moved in three months ago. But that’s another story.

Up until now, I can not imagine how someone managed to get inside my room and took my laptop. By the way, the thief left the charger. Boo!

I know I have been complaining about how slow it has become and how old is was. But it has sentimental value. I got that laptop when I was studying masters in Denmark and UK. It has never let me down since. Sure, I rant about it, but I still love it just the same.

Getting a new one was already in my mind but not right now. I am not ready yet. Sighs

My family and friends said I should stop worrying but it’s really hard.

Like what I posted on facebook the day after the incident, “…it felt as though six years of my life were stolen too…”

I don’t have a choice but to let go.

And to that someone who took it, karma is a bitch!

As for me, perhaps getting a new laptop is in order! But that will have to wait.

About gorgeousmole

in the greater scheme of things, i am just a mole. but i am an awesome, fabulous and gorgeous mole! my life is anchored on faith, hope and love.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gone too soon…

  1. Paula says:

    Sorry to hear that!

  2. gorgeousmole says:

    thanks, Paula! it really sucks… 😦

Leave a Reply

