Nansen and Me

During my last day in Oslo (04 August 2011), I decided to do a quick visit to the Nobel Peace Institute and the Nobel Peace Center. I do not know why I was not able to visit those two very important places. All I remember is that I wanted and needed to be there,  but had to forego the trips for other stuff, thinking that I can “always” visit them. But in the last weeks at ISS, there was just no time to do so!  Especially that the last week was spent on writing the essay (the final exam).

Anyways, I was fortunate to have finished my essay just before lunch that day so I went on to do the visits, alone. Yeah, I could not bring anyone to come with me as my classmates were still busy finishing their essays!

I went anyway as I thought that I may not have another chance to go.

I first went to Vigelandsparkena famous park which boasts of 192 bronze and granite (human) sculptures! Actually, I met a fellow (Tindi) ISS student on my way there (we met at the metro)  so we went together. It was a very interesting visit and I am glad that Tindi was with me, otherwise it would have been difficult to take photos of myself there. Unfortunately Tindi can’t go with me to my next destinations so I went on to downtown all by my lonesome.

The Institute was already closed when I got there (they close at 15:00) so I just took photos of Alfred Nobel’s bust statue outside the institute.

From there, I walked to the Nobel Peace Center. Along the way, I passed by Henrik Ibsen‘s museum and the Holmenkollen Office.  At the Nobel Peace Center, I met Mr. Fridtjof Nansen (the title of this post refers to him).

The center is awesome! It is a good thing that I got a student pass so I got in free of charge. It has so many features which are highly informative and interactive. Very cool!

Then came Mr. Nansen. In that part of the center, one can have a photo taken with the famous Norwegian (it’s actually just a replica of him standing there) and all you need to do is work on the machine and pose beside him. Unfortunately, it took only 5 seconds for the automatic camera to take a snapshot! Then lo and behold, I was not “properly” posed with him. Sighs!

So here is that photo of Mr. Nansen and me. In the photo, I am referred to as the “unknown helper”. It is really funny but I love it! Thanks to the amazing stuff at the Nobel Peace Center, I have a souvenir photo with the Nobel Peace Prize Winner.

That quick trip was a very nice one for me! At least I managed to go despite my very hectic schedule at the summer school. I also love the fact that I did it alone.

After that, I headed back to the dorm to prepare for the closing party, the packing and the leaving (most of us left the next day).

Cheers, Mr. Nansen!

About gorgeousmole

in the greater scheme of things, i am just a mole. but i am an awesome, fabulous and gorgeous mole! my life is anchored on faith, hope and love.
This entry was posted in People, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

