“Come to Norway, Meet the World”

This is the heading of the International Summer School‘s website.

“The International Summer School each year welcomes approximately 600 students from 90 different nations to study for six weeks at the University of Oslo.” – ISS

I first heard about ISS through my Indonesian friend, Endah, who I met at a women’s conference in Davao City in 2008. At ISS, she took the Gender Equality in the Nordic Countries Course. Endah encouraged me to give it a shot and apply.

I was very much interested by what Endah told me so I eagerly checked the website and found out that it is an exciting summer program offered by the University of Oslo, Norway. So I applied…

Right now, I’ll let you in on a secret: I was not accepted during my first application in 2009 and did not get in last year either. But this year, I made it! 🙂

I guess I wanted it so bad that I did not want to give up that easily. I tried and tried. For that experience, it is true that three is a charmer. When I posted my application, I said to myself that if I will not get it, I will stop and accept that it is not for me. But of course I prayed for it too, I asked God to give it to me as a birthday present. Luckily, God was listening.

So my (Philippine) summer here was spent preparing for the (Norwegian) summer there.

For this year, there were almost 600 students from 95 countries. Talk about “coming to Norway and meeting the world!”

And my summer adventures have begun.

(More posts coming up…)

 

About gorgeousmole

in the greater scheme of things, i am just a mole. but i am an awesome, fabulous and gorgeous mole! my life is anchored on faith, hope and love.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Come to Norway, Meet the World”

  1. Paula says:

    So, did you see the fjords? Or is that saved for upcoming posts? 🙂

  2. Noon says:

    I guess we were lucky that you didn’t get accepted the first 2 times you have tried, otherwise we wouldn’t have met such a great person like you ! ❤ 🙂

    • gorgeousmole says:

      Yes, Noon! I also think that it is the reason for that to happen, otherwise I would have missed meeting the ISS batch this year. I am grateful that I was accepted this year. Thank you for the kind words. You are a great person too and I am blessed to have met you. Cheers! 🙂

  3. gorgeousmole says:

    okay, this entry has more than 50 views now! surpassing ‘Moon”. thanks for reading and viewing, fiends! :o)

Leave a Reply

