The Wonder Years

Today on Facebook, someone posted about The Wonder Years – an American television comedy-drama created by Carol Black and Neal Marlens. It ran for six seasons on ABC from 1988 through 1993. Suddenly I was transported back in time, to the age of innocence.

It is one of my favorite TV series of all time! I remember waiting for it with great anticipation, I don’t exactly recall the day it was aired, but I remember all too well the characters Kevin and Winnie; and how I fell in love with their story. For me it was a great show and looking back, I realized that it has been a big part of my growing up years.

   

I wish I can go back to that time but it’s all in the past now. At least I have memories to hold on to and they are happy ones.

Cheers to The Wonder Years and growing up in the 80’s!

“Things never turn out exactly the way you planned. I know they didn’t with me. Still, like my father used to say, ‘Traffic’s traffic, you go where life takes you’ and growing up happens in a heartbeat. One day you’re in diapers, the next you’re gone, but the memories of childhood stay with you for the long haul. I remember a time a place, a particular fourth of July, the things that happened in that decade of war and change. I remember a house like a lot of houses, a yard like a lot of yards, on a street like a lot of other streets. I remember how hard it was growing up among people and places I loved. Most of all, I remember how hard it was to leave. And the thing is, after all these years I still look back in wonder.” – Kevin Arnold, Narrator (The Wonder Years)

About gorgeousmole

in the greater scheme of things, i am just a mole. but i am an awesome, fabulous and gorgeous mole! my life is anchored on faith, hope and love.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wonder Years

  1. Jimmy says:

    I remember the first episode aired after the Super Bowl. I was the same age as Kevin and I would feel awkward when he kissed Winnie (or any other girl) because my parents were in the room when I was watching it.

    I quote the show frequently. And I love the quote you included… from the last episode after the 4th of July parade. Just before it ended, you could hear Kevin’s son’s voice asking him to play catch.

    That was quality TV.

Leave a Reply

