Thirty One

A reflection on my 31st birthday in London
Friday, May 19th, 2006

May 5, 2006. I can’t believe it, I am 31 years old!

Well, I am happy to be 31 for it means i have lived thirty-one amazing, blessed and wonderful years. What can beat that?

Plus, where else can you celebrate a great birthday than in London?! I am very grateful for this opportunity to be here in London on my 31st birthday. I actually had a 3-day celebration! well, I had to do it so I will not go crazy!

The first party was the day before (May 4th), in my room at the dorm (John Adams Hall, Room 74) with my dorm mates. It was a blast! I still wonder how 10 or so people fit inside my small room. But well, we managed and we had fun. I have formed friendships with some of my dorm mates and I thought it would be a good idea to have a celebration with them. It was so much fun! I was a bit tipsy though…

On the day itself (May 5th), my beloved was my special guest. What best way to celebrate a birthday than to be with this year’s best gift: Thomas! We had a quiet dinner at an Italian restaurant. His gifts? a box of chocolates, an Audrey Hepburn birthday card and a gift set of nice smelling goodies from Crabtree & Evelyn. sweet indeed!

Day 3 (May 6th) was spent with Thomas and my close friends, well they are the people who have grown really close to me here in London; my fellows at the university and in the program: Anastasia, Ansuyah, Micah and Sophie. We had dinner in a Filipino restaurant called ‘Josephines’. Yes, there is a pinoy resto here and the food was delicious! And my international friends loved it, they said so. It was a very nice evening. The resto staff were kind enough to make a birthday cake (actually, leche flan!) with a candle for me, I then had the traditional happy birthday song and ‘make-a-wish’ part! Cute.

But of course it would have been more special if my family and friends from home were here. Oh well!

It was indeed an absolutely wonderful birthday celebration! Turning thirty-one in London is just lovely.

I am truly blessed and for that, my heart is shouting with gratitude to Him up there. Cheers to more beautiful years! 🙂

   

   

About gorgeousmole

in the greater scheme of things, i am just a mole. but i am an awesome, fabulous and gorgeous mole! my life is anchored on faith, hope and love.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, People, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

