Festuge

This week, Aarhus City is having it’s “Festuge”, the Danish version of our fiesta or festival. It is a 10-day long celebration highlighted with concerts, exhibits, etc. When I was studying there in 2006, I was able to experience what it was like. I wrote something about it then and I am re-posting it here now.

*****

Festuge (Saturday, September 2nd, 2006)

Indeed, this is how they call their festival here. It is a 10-day long celebration of sorts and the Danes are just too eager to enjoy it to the full. Festuge is celebrated every year in Aarhus and people await for it with great excitement. I feel fortunate to be here at this time of the year and when I learned about it, I got excited too. I was told that it is a great festival with so many things going on all at the same time. And well, people have the excuse to get drunk!

So when the Aarhus Festuge kicked off last Friday, I found myself in the midst of the jovial celebration. I was amazed at what I saw and heard. I went around the town center and it was a very good cultural experience for me. It was my first time to witness such events and I was really impressed! These people know how to celebrate and party just like Filipinos. So they are not stiffy after all! 🙂

The best thing about this is that I saw good-looking Danish guys! I have never seen so many gwapos in one setting, in one time! So it is reason enough to be around and mingle. After all, it is not everyday that I get to see all of them.

Cheers to Aarhus Festuge 2006!

About gorgeousmole

in the greater scheme of things, i am just a mole. but i am an awesome, fabulous and gorgeous mole! my life is anchored on faith, hope and love.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

